Buck LeGrand

Nebraska’s Big Rodeo Contestants to Enter National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum

Founded in 1955, the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City is America’s premier institution promoting the enduring legacy of the American
West.  The annual Rodeo Hall of Fame Weekend hosted by the Rodeo Historical Society celebrating rodeo legends’ induction into the Rodeo Hall of Fame as well as
the Ben Johnson Memorial Award recipient is slated for November 8-9.  Among those to be honored in 2019 are Oklahoma bull fighter and rodeo clown, Buck LeGrand
(1931-1997), who worked Nebraska’s Big Rodeo in Burwell 17 times beginning in 1949 and Iowa bareback-bull rider Thomas Joseph “T.J.” Walter (1949-2017) who won
the bareback title at Burwell in 1978, 1979 & 1982.

Receiving the coveted Ben Johnson Award is Oklahoma cowboy, Doug Clark.  The 57-year-old Clark, won back-
to-back calf roping titles at Nebraska’s Big Rodeo in 1986 & 1987, in addition to a 4th place steer roping finish in 1994.